

Recipients of MWVCOG Annual Awards

The following includes a description of our current annual awards – the Wes Kvarsten Professional Service Award, the Gwen VanDenBosch Regional Leadership Award, the Regional Cooperative Project Award, and the Chair's Choice Award – with a listing of the people and/or groups who received that award. Also provided is information for a past award given from 1980-1991, the Rich Emken award.

Please note – the year listed is the year the award was presented.

The Wes Kvarsten Professional Service Award

Recognizing a staff person or volunteer each year working for or on behalf of one or more member governments within the region who has exhibited sustained commitment in support of regional, intergovernmental cooperation.

2001	Mia Mohr	2013	Richard Schmid
2002	David C. Haugeberg	2014	Jody Christensen
2003	Dan Murphy	2015	Shawn Irvine
2004	Rosemary Wilson	2016	John Lattimer
2005	Barry Donenfeld	2017	Mike Jaffe
2006	Nathan Brown	2018	Greg Hansen
2007	Roger Jordan	2019	Heather Richards
2008	Greg Ellis	2020	David Sawyer
2009	Sam Sasaki	2021	David Clyne
2010	Ray Teasley	2022	Frank Sheridan
2011	Terrance D. Mahr	2023	Denise VanDyke
2012	Kent Taylor		

The Gwen VanDenBosch Regional Leadership Award

Recognizing an elected official in Marion, Polk, or Yamhill County each year who demonstrates outstanding leadership in regional, intergovernmental affairs.

2001	Gwen VanDenBosch	2013	Kathie Oriet
2002	Randall Franke	2014	Harold White
2002	Mike Propes	2015	Ken Woods Jr.
2003	Lane Shetterly	2016	Anna Peterson
2004	Richard Walsh	2017	John Oberst
2005	Stan Christensen	2018	Janet Carlson
2006	John McArdle	2019	Bob Andrews
2007	Kathy Sherman	2020	Brad Nanke
2008	Jim Fairchild	2021	Michael Cape
2009	Carly Strauss	2022	Cathy Clark
2010	Janet Carlson	2022	Eric Swenson
2011	Janet Taylor	2023	Rachel King
2012	Chris Mercier		

The Regional Cooperative Project Award

Recognizing, each year, a partnership of local governments within the region for a project or initiative that enhances intergovernmental cooperation.

2001	Chehalem Vision Project
2002	Valley Development Initiatives, Inc.
2003	Monmouth-Independence Network (MINET)
2004	Spirit Mountain Community Fund
2005	Dayton-Lafayette Water Project
2006	Newberg-Dundee Police Services Consolidation Project
2007	City of Newberg/Chehalem Park and Recreation District Effluent Reuse Project
2008	Oktoberfest

2009	295 Church Street Redevelopment Project – Salem
2010	Independence/Monmouth – Joint Willamette Well Field Project
2011	Salem-Keizer Transit/Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde – Route 2X-Grand Ronde Express
2012	Bart Rierson, Newberg City Councilor/Mayor Ted Crawford, City of Dundee/Don Clements,
	Chehalem Park And Recreation District Superintendent - Chehalem Paddle Launch
2013	The Cities of Aumsville, Salem, Stayton and Turner; Marion County; Salem Hospital; Salem-
	Keizer School District; Santiam Water Control District; Willamette University and the
	Willamette Heritage Center - Mill Creek Watershed Flood Early Warning System
2014	Newberg School District/City of Newberg - Sixth Grade Design Star Project
2015	Salem-Keizer Transit/Marion County – Courthouse Square Project
2016	City of Keizer/Marion County – The Big Toy
2017	Cities of Keizer & Salem – Mid-Willamette Homeless Initiative
2018	City of Independence – Independence Landing
2019	Cities of Carlton, Lafayette, & McMinnville; Yamhill County & McMinnville Water & Light -
	Yamhill Regional Water Authority
2020	Cities of Sheridan & Willamina, & The Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde – South Yamhill
	River Valley Wayfinding Project
2021	City of Woodburn – Woodburn COVID-19 Response Team
2022	All Hands Leadership Group

The Chair's Award

Recognizing, each year, a person or group that the Chair of the Board of Directors wishes to honor.

2009	Tom Bauman
2010	Cities of Newberg, Dayton, Dundee and Lafayette
2011	Aumsville Tornado Disaster Emergency Response
2012	Pat Grose
2013	Rickreall Watershed Council and Polk Soil and Water Conservation District - Rickreall
	Watershed Management Strategies Assessment (WATERS) Project
2014	Shanti Platt
2015	Dan Clem
2016	Zero Waste McMinnville
2017	Nancy Boyer
2018	The Gate Youth Association
2019	Claggett Creek Watershed Council
2020	Colleen Busch
2021	Renata Wakeley
2022	Grand Ronde Health & Wellness Center
2023	Rick Rogers

MWVCOG Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizing a person or group that the Board of Directors wishes to honor. Given rarely.

2019 Jim Fairchild2020 Sam Brentano

2008 Lore Christopher

The Rich Emken Award

Recognizing a person each year who, like former Monmouth Mayor Rich Emken, has shown unusual dedication to his/her family, profession, local government and the Mid-Willamette Valley Council of Governments.

1980	Norman Scott, Mayor of McMinnville		McMinnville
1981	Elvern Hall, Mayor of Newberg	1986	Art Hebert, Mayor of Sheridan
1982	Harry Carson, Jr., Marion County	1987	Gwen VanDenBosch, Mayor of Dallas
	Commissioner	1988	Robert L. Simon, Mayor of Keizer
1983	John Middlemiss, City of Silverton	1989	Garry Kanz, Marion County
1984	Don Porter, Yamhill County		Commissioner
	Commissioner	1990	Marion Rossi, Mayor of Independence
1985	Joe W. Dancer, City Manager,	1991	Sam Brentano, Mayor of Sublimity